Ancient, Modern and Bernstein

Date: March 3, 2018
Time: 8pm
Venue: Tsai Performance Center at Boston University

THE NEP marks the centennial of the birth of one of the greatest composers of the 20thcentury, Leonard Bernstein, with a performance of Three Dance Variationsfrom Fancy Free.  The concert will also feature, Claude Debussy’s  Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune; Eric Nathan’s  Paestum, (World premiere of orchestral version); Ferruccio Busoni’s  Indian Fantasy for piano and orchestra, op. 44, Jeffrey Swann, piano;Steven Stucky’s  Symphony (Boston premiere); and Lachlan Skipworth  Spiritus, (US premiere, Call for Scores winner).

Claude Debussy  Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune  1894

Eric Nathan  Paestum 2013, World premiere of orchestral version

Ferruccio Busoni  Indian Fantasy for piano and orchestra, op. 44  1914
  Jeffrey Swann, piano

Leonard Bernstein “Three Dance Variations” from Fancy Free  1944

Steven Stucky  Symphony  2012, Boston premiere

Lachlan Skipworth  Spiritus 2017, US premiere, Call for Scores winner