Call for Scores

Since 1985, the New England Philharmonic has been one of few orchestras of its size in the country with a Composer-in-Residence program that holds an annual Call for Scores competition, receiving dozens of submissions from around the world. Winning scores are performed on one of our season’s programs. By presenting these new works in the context of pieces by established composers— including classics of the symphonic repertory—the New England Philharmonic demonstrates that orchestral music is not a finished collection of museum pieces, but a living, evolving tradition. This approach has won the orchestra excellent reviews and wide recognition, including nine national awards for programming from the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP), and one of the first grants from the Aaron Copland Fund for new music.

The winner of the 2017-18 competition is Spiritus”  2017 by Lachlan Skipworth.
The composition will receive its Boston premiere by the NEP under the direction of Richard Pittman at their March 3, 2018 concert “Ancient, Modern and Bernstein


Please note:  We are currently NOT accepting submissions.
If you have any questions or concerns, please email


Scores will be accepted from emerging composers. The application fee of $40 per score must accompany each submission.
The performance of the submitted score will be no longer than a 15-minute duration.

Instrumentation may include up to the following:

3 flutes (1 doubling piccolo)
3 oboe (1 doubling English horn)
3 clarinet (1 doubling bass clarinet)
3 bassoon (1 doubling contrabassoon)
4 horns, 3 trumpets
3 trombones (3rd is bass trombone)
1 tuba
1 timpanist
3 percussion

Concertos, vocal works, and works for string orchestra, woodwind- or brass ensemble are not eligible for application.

If you have any questions or concerns, please email