2019-20 Season Program coming soon!

See our 2018-19 programs below.

Spirit of the Bells

October 27, 2018  8pm  

New England Conservatory’s Jordan Hall

The Commonwealth Chorale joins the NEP in historic Jordan Hall for Rachmaninoff’s dramatic Poe-inspired choral symphony, along with John Harbison’s Symphony No. 1 and Lachlan Skipworth’s Spiritus.

Lachlan Skipworth Spiritus (2017)
United States premiere, Winner, 2017 NEP Call for Scores

John Harbison Symphony No. 1 (1981)

Sergei Rachmaninoff The Bells (1913)

Sarah Pelletier, soprano
Yeghishe Manucharyan, tenor
David Kravitz, baritone
Commonwealth Chorale, David Carrier, director

The Big Bad Wolf

December 2, 2018 3pm

Boston University Tsai Performance Center

Our annual family concert features the world premiere of Bernard Hoffer’s Little Red Riding Hood with the Boston City Singers, Andy Vores’s Big Bad Wolf, music of Aaron Copland, and a concerto performance by the winner of our annual Young Artist Competition.

Aaron Copland “Prairie Night” and “Celebration” from Billy the Kid (1938)

Andy Vores Big Bad Wolf (2000)

Felix Mendelssohn, Violin Concerto in E Minor, op. 64 1st mvt.
Luke Henderson, violin, Winner of 2018 Young Artist Competition

Bernard Hoffer Little Red Riding Hood (2018)
World premiere, NEP commission

Boston City Singers, Joshua DeWitte, director
Joyce Kulhawik, narrator

From Bruckner
to the Moon

March 2, 2019   8pm

Boston University Tsai Performance Center

Anton Bruckner’s monumental Third Symphony, with the world premiere of a newly restored passage, is accompanied by Melinda Wagner’s atmospheric Proceed, Moon, and Francis Poulenc’s sparkling Concerto for Two Pianos performed by the husband-and-wife duo Randall Hodgkinson and Leslie Amper.

Melinda Wagner Proceed, Moon (2016)
First Boston performance

Francis Poulenc Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra (1932)

Leslie Amper and Randall Hodgkinson, duo piano

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 3 in D Minor (“Wagner”) (1878)
Including the world premiere of 38 bars in the finale (from 2nd version 1877)


April 27, 2019   8pm

Boston University Tsai Performance Center

David Rakowski’s Symphony no. 7, commissioned by the NEP, explores earth, water, wind, and fire, while Angela Elizabeth Slater’s Roil in Stillness captures the motion of waves, Benedict and Beatrice look for love, Yehudi Wyner movingly remembers Jacob Druckman, and Janáček’s Violin Concerto traces the wandering of a little soul.

Hector Berlioz Overture to Béatrice et Bénédict (1860-62)

Yehudi Wyner Epilogue: in memory of Jacob Druckman (1996)

Angela Elizabeth Slater Roil in Stillness (2015)
World premiere, Winner, 2018 NEP Call for Scores

Leoš Janáček Violin Concerto (“The Wandering of a Little Soul”) (1926)

Danielle Maddon, violin

David Rakowski Symphony no. 7  (2018-19)
World premiere, NEP commission